Main Street Farmers Market-May 2, 2012

For some reason I was way out of sorts at the market today. I think it was because, due to this game called life, I am not going to be cooking as much as usual this week. In turn, I couldn’t really decided how much food to purchase. I wanted to give a full week’s worth of meal plan ideas even though I probably won’t cook an entire week’s worth of meals this week. Anyway, here’s what I got:

From Rising Fawn Gardens: Spinach ($4.00/bag), sorrel (an ingredient I’ve never used before!)($2.00/bunch), radishes ($2.00/bunch), and Asian greens (which are nice and peppery, similar to arugula, which we adore)($2.50/bunch).

msfm525

From Hoe Hop Valley Farm: Pork chops ($8.50 for 4) and eggs (on sale 2 dozen for $5.00 since these were smallish).

msfm521

msfm522

From Link 41: Bacon. Duh. $9.50. I want to get some of their pepperone (no, that is not a misspelling) soon.

From Circle S Farm: Young onions, $2.00

msfm524

From Fall Creek Farms: A gallon of raw milk ($8.00/week for the herd share after buying in to the herd share program) and seven red potatoes (I miscounted and told them I got eight….so I paid for eight-$2.00-then got home and realized I’d only picked up seven. Oh well.)

msfm523

I think I have an idea of my menu for the week, so depending on time I’ll get that posted later this evening or tomorrow. Right now, though, I’m off to cook tonight’s dinner. In the meantime, check out this month’s Busy Bee Trader…Chattavore is featured on pages 54 & 55, including a review of my favorite Blue Ribbon Cafe, and my first post is up on Honest Cooking-yippee!

5 thoughts on “Main Street Farmers Market-May 2, 2012

  1. $8/gallon….whoa! Someone told me about a farm that you can get it for $5…..if I find out more info I’ll let you know. By the time I got there nobody had eggs…boo!

    • Hmmm…I don’t know! FCF is the only farm around here that I’m aware of that does raw milk…of course, you are not paying for the milk, you are paying an $8/week fee for the herd share (TN does not allow the sale of raw milk). Sorry about your egg luck 😦 I usually don’t buy them at the farmers market….most of the farms sell them $5/dozen and I get them from a guy near me for $2/dozen, but since these were on sale and I needed eggs I decided to kill 2 birds with one stone.

      • But, of course, I have been paying $5 or $6 a gallon for organic milk so I really didn’t think twice about the $8/week fee.

  2. In Ga you can sell raw milk as pet milk. You have to sign a waiver stating you know it is only safe for animals!!!! We go through a lot of milk. How much does it cost to join the herd share?

Thanks for leaving a comment....but remember that Chattavore is a positive site. Keep your comments nice! Negativity will be deleted.

