Main Street Farmers Market-April 25, 2012

Tonight’s post is going to be brief….it’s 9:45!  Last week I somehow managed to eke out my meal plan (including printables) before Philip even got home for the evening.  Apparently I had a burst of energy….not this week.  My class started last week so I’ve got a lot less time to work with now.  But you don’t care about that, so let me tell you about the market today.

I got there at about 4:10 or 4:15 and there were about a million people there.  And it was hot.  I was sweating.  There were a couple of new vendors there today (or at least vendors that I haven’t seen before).  I stood in line at the Fall Creek Farms stall for about ten minutes.  Crazy!  I had planned to make my purchases at Fall Creek Farms and head back over to Tant Hill Farm to buy some spinach, but by the time I got there it was all gone!  Colvin Family Farm had strawberries, but they were sold out by 4:30 (luckily I bought my local strawberries from Tidwell’s on Tuesday-strawberry pie post on its way!).  Here’s what I got:

From Hoe Hop Valley Farm: hot dogs from forest-fed pigs.  Their hot dogs are made by Link 41.  I am very interested to try them….they don’t look like any hot dogs I’ve ever seen.  Not that that’s a bad thing!  This package, which I was told was about 1 1/2 lbs., was $15.00, comparable per unit to the hot dogs I buy at the grocery store (Applegate Farms).

msm4254

From Link 41, I got my usual bacon (of course). I have taken to referring to this as “my weekly bacon”. This .9 lb. package was $9.00. I hope you’ll forgive me…I’m not going to take a picture of my bacon every week. That feels silly. This photo is from last week.

msm4184

From Fall Creek Farms, I purchased a bunch of carrots ($2.50), 2 leeks ($1.00/each), a bunch of radishes ($1.00), 4 potatoes ($1.00), and some broccoli ($3.25). I also signed up for their herd share…I’m goign to take the “raw milk challenge”. Okay, that doesn’t exist, I made it up. But I really did sign up.

msm4255

I bought a bunch of rainbow chard from Colvin Family Farm for $2.00. This chard was so fresh I found a bug on it when I was photographing it (that does not upset me)! I turned this into creamed chard tonight and served it on top of biscuits with poached eggs and bacon. Mmmmmmm.

msm4256

I got some more Cumberland cheese from Sequatchie Cove Creamery for $4.75. I know this may seem dull, but I think this will become grilled cheese. My time is short on weeknights, and I want my meals to be accessible.

msm4251

From Tant Hill Farm, I got a consolation prize (since they were sold out of spinach) of red butterhead lettuce. This large head was $3.00. They also had smaller heads for $2.00.

msm4252

And last, but certainly not least, I picked up these from Pocket Farm….kohlrabi. I’ve never had this before. The lady at the stall told me that you can cook the greens and that they like to peel the bulbs and slice it into a salad, but that some people also like to roast it. I think these were $1.00 each.

msm4253

Hopefully, I’ll get my meal plan posted tomorrow. Forgive me for my untimeliness!

One thought on “Main Street Farmers Market-April 25, 2012

  1. Thanks for stopping by our booth at tAnt Hill Farm. We work hard to provide you with the food, real food, that will put a smile on your face and give you satisfaction that you’ve taken the time to satisfy and support the local food enjoyment. We will be looking for you again,.

Thanks for leaving a comment....but remember that Chattavore is a positive site. Keep your comments nice! Negativity will be deleted.

