Moving Right Along

I did not start this blog as a hobby. I started this blog because I like to cook, eat, and write. Well, in January 2011, when I purchased the domain name chattavore.com, I liked to cook, eat, and write. Now I can add photography to the list of things I like to do. Anyway, I don’t think it’s much of a secret that I aspire to be a food writer and photographer…like, really be a food writer and photographer and make a living at it, somehow. I hope this doesn’t ruin my credibility as a blogger. I’m just being honest. If it doesn’t happen, though, Chattavore isn’t going anywhere…this is my creative outlet. I love writing this blog.

Over the past month and a half, things seem to have really begun to move in the right direction. First, I was approached by Jamie, the publisher of Busy Bee Trader, a “Destination Guide to Antiques, Uniques, & Southern Lifestyles”, to contribute recipes, kitchen tips, and restaurant reviews to her publication. Super-yea! I will be published for the first time in the April issue. So, first exciting thing.

Number two, my blog is now number one on the Chattanooga Urbanspoon leaderboard! This means that, of all the blogs that review Chattanooga restaurants, mine is the one that has received the most views. It took me a long time to get there, and I don’t plan on looking back anytime soon!

Third, I have received mentions, reposts, and retweets from local restaurants that I have reviewed as well as Polyface Farms, profiled on Food, Inc. I mentioned Folks, This Ain’t Normal by Joel Salatin, the owner of Polyface Farms, in my post The Gospel of Local Food. His daughter-in-law’s sharing of my post drew a lot of attention to my blog that day, which blew my mind.

Finally, I got new business cards (I like to give my cards to the staff at the restaurants I review) and bumper stickers for my car and Philip’s truck. If you live in Chattanooga, keep your eyes peeled! I hope to make these available for my readers to help me spread the word about Chattavore soon!

bumpersticker

business card

In the months to come…well, I still have plenty of restaurants in Chattanooga and the surrounding areas to review. I am working on increasing my intake of whole foods and decreasing the amount of processed food I purchase, and I am sure that this will be reflected to some extent in my recipes. As I work to increase my patronage of local food producers, I hope to be able to profile some of these people in my blog. So, keep reading (and let me know if there’s anything you’d like to see Chattavore write about)!

6 thoughts on “Moving Right Along

  1. Cue the thunderous applause! It takes an enormous amount of time and love to keep the blog lively and work as a special educatiion teacher. I soooo enjoy reading your reviews and comments. I don’t know when you find the time. Love you, keep on keeping on! xoxo Susan

  2. How exciting, Mary! Congratulations! I know that all the great things happening wouldn’t have been possible without your having a dream, forming a vision, and stepping out with a ton of diligence. It also can’t hurt to have a supportive husband shooting videos and accompanying you on your, ehem, research trips;) The decision you made early on to “keep it positive” hits the mark; it probably gives you an edge in ways that we can’t fully appreciate this side of heaven. Peace, Lisa

  3. Thank you all for your sweet comments! It’s such a fun thing for me but I can’t wait until summer break so I will have lots of time to devote…plus when my classes are done in June that will be a huge amount of time opened up! Aunt Susan, we’ll have to find some fun restaurants to review while you’re here…and you’ll have to cook with me so we can do some recipe posts together!

  4. Mary, perhaps you can get to Cleveland when time permits and review Cafe Roma. I think this restaurant will be right up your alley!

Thanks for leaving a comment....but remember that Chattavore is a positive site. Keep your comments nice! Negativity will be deleted.

