The Biscoff Fudge Debacle

Have you ever flown Delta and gotten those Biscoff cookies that they pass out? They’re yummy, sort of gingersnappy and spicy. I didn’t know until recently that they sold them at my local grocery store, and I also didn’t know that they made a spread that is literally made out of the cookies. It looks like peanut butter, and it’s stocked in the peanut butter section. Not too long after I saw it at the store, Bakerella, one of my favorite food bloggers, posted this recipe for Biscoff fudge.  I thought it sounded interesting, so I picked up the necessary ingredients.  Well, we ate all the cookies….which is fine, because you can make the fudge with or without the cookies….but I have been eating the spread with apples for breakfast (probably not the healthiest choice) and the jar is quickly growing empty…so I figured I better get going on this.

The cast of characters: Biscoff spread, marshmallow creme, butter (she uses margarine, but you know I can’t go there), sugar, and vanilla (in the Mason jar-yes, I make my own vanilla extract).

biscofffudge1

Put 1 1/2 cups of sugar, 6 tablespoons of butter (or, gulp, margarine), and 1/3 cup of evaporated milk in a pot. Bring to a rolling boil and cook for 4 minutes, stirring frequently.

biscofffudge2

biscofffudge3

biscofffudge6

After boiling for four minutes, remove the mixture from the heat. Stir in 1/2 cup Biscoff spread until completely melted and incorporated. I think this may be where the process started to break down. It was pretty grainy….

biscofffudge4

biscofffudge7

biscofffudge8

Now, mix in 3.5 or half of the jar of marshmallow creme. I sprayed my measuring cup with cooking spray so the marshmallow creme wouldn’t stick. Mix it in well. Bakerella used an electric hand mixer. This could have been another issue.

biscofffudge5

biscofffudge9

Yowza. That really is grainy. Go look at her pictures. Her fudge looks beautiful and smooth and swirly. Mine-grainy and bleh. Bakerella suggests that if you get it too hot, it may end up crumbly. Perhaps that was the issue. If any of you have any secrets on making perfect fudge, let me in on them. Clearly, something went wrong somewhere. Oh well! It tastes good!

biscofffudge10

biscofffudge11

4 thoughts on “The Biscoff Fudge Debacle

  1. I LOVE Biscoff cookies – my favorite! I didn’t know about the spread though, I’ll have to look for that next time I’m at the store and try my hand at the fudge. Thanks!! :0)

  2. Hey Mary, Looks like heat was the issue in your fudge being grainy. A rolling boil in candy making is JUST HOT ENOUGH to keep it bubbleing, not a full on boil as in boiling water. A good way to avoid this is to use a double boiler! Good luck with the next batch!

Thanks for leaving a comment....but remember that Chattavore is a positive site. Keep your comments nice! Negativity will be deleted.

