Corn & Cheese Chowder-Thanks for the Idea, Tiffany!

Last week, my friend Tiffany posted on Facebook that she was making corn and cheese chowder from Pioneer Woman’s website.  You know me….I’m a huge fan of PW, and the chowder sounded delicious, so I decided to whip up a pot of it for dinner tonight.  Since I am trying my best to practice my photography as often as possible, I documented the progress.  And, since it was stormy, it gave me an opportunity to work on lighting.  For more detailed directions, see Pioneer Woman’s original recipe.  By the way, I halved the recipe.

I started out by dicing up half an onion, two slices of bacon, and a gigantic red pepper.  Did you know that this is the easiest way to cut up a pepper?  Just slice the sides away from the core, and the seeds stay with the core.  By the way, if you want to store a portion of the pepper, leave the seeds in it.   It will stay fresh much longer with the core and seeds than without.  I melted two tablespoons of butter in a pot over medium-high heat then sauteed the onions for about two minutes.  The bacon went into the pan to cook for a minute, then the red pepper to cook for two minutes more. I used frozen corn-about 2 cups-but you can use fresh. I added the corn to the pot and cooked it for another minute (I thawed it before using it).

c&cc

c&cc2

c&cc3

c&cc4

After all of the veggies cooked for a while, I sprinkled two tablespoons of flour over the mixture and stirred it all together, then added a cup and a half of chicken broth (this is homemade) and cooked it for about 4 minutes, until it thickened up a little. I lowered the heat to low and added a cup of half and half. After adding the half and half, I clamped on the lid and cooked it for fifteen minutes. I love this Dutch oven! For a long time I wanted a Le Creuset French oven….they seem to be “the thing” for all of the TV chefs….but then I discovered that Lodge made an enameled cast iron Dutch oven. The Lodge factory is only about an hour away from where I live, and this 6-quart Dutch oven is a fraction of the price of the same size pot from Le Creuset. Support local business!

c&cc5

c&cc6

c&cc7

c&cc9

While the soup was simmering, I chopped up a couple of green onions. Philip grated a big pile of cheese…some monterey jack and some pepper jack. After the fifteen minutes were up, we stirred both into the soup and salted and peppered to taste.

c&cc8

c&cc10

c&cc11

I topped the soup with sour cream, and we ate them with these delicious tortilla chips that Philip bought when he and a friend went to Delia’s for lunch today (I’m so jealous!). The soup was delicious, and there was enough left over for my lunch tomorrow. I also thought it would have been great with seasoned (with taco seasoning) ground beef stirred in. Yum!

c&cc12

2 thoughts on “Corn & Cheese Chowder-Thanks for the Idea, Tiffany!

  1. I am always looking for new ideas and this looks and sounds delicious!! I also blog about food “rezichfamilykitchen” and look everywhere for inspiration on what to make each week. This is definitely going on our menu for next week!! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for leaving a comment....but remember that Chattavore is a positive site. Keep your comments nice! Negativity will be deleted.

