Cream of Mushroom Soup with Swiss-Parmesan Toast

I love a good mushroom soup, but it seems that most of the scratch-made recipes that I have found are for more of a mushroom “bisque” that is better suited for an appetizer (i.e. not very filling). I’ve been making my own “cream of mushroom soup” to use in recipes (instead of canned soup) for a few years now, but, of course, that soup is much thicker than anything I would eat as a meal. I mentioned a couple of weeks ago that we have been eating less meat lately, and mushrooms fit well into that equation. I decided recently to give homemade cream of mushroom soup a try, and I was very happy with the results!

To make the soup a little more filling, I decided to add rice to it. I would love to find a good wild rice that doesn’t come preseasoned (if you know where I can find one, let me know!) but I haven’t yet, so I used a brown and wild rice blend. I measured out a cup of rice, which makes four servings, and set it to cook according to package directions. This rice took about 50 minutes to cook, so you can get started with the rice a little bit before you start prepping everything else.

mushroomsoup1

Next, place the contents of a one-ounce package of dried mushrooms (these are chanterelles) into a bowl and cover with hot water to rehydrate while you prep the rest of the ingredients.

mushroomsoup2

mushroomsoup3

Heat a tablespoon or two of olive oil in a medium pot (this is my 6-quart enameled Lodge Dutch oven). Chop a smallish onion and cook it until softened and translucent (well, mine were a little brown). In the meantime, wipe the tops of an 8-ounce package of cremini (baby portobello) mushrooms with a damp paper towel. Remove the stems and quarter the mushrooms. When the onions have softened, add the mushrooms and cook them until they are softened.

mushroomsoup4

mushroomsoup5

mushroomsoup6

mushroomsoup7

Add two tablespoons of butter to the mushrooms and onions and allow it to melt. Add a couple of tablespoons of flour and stir it to form a roux. Now, here’s the good part: add half a cup of sherry to the pan and stir it until thickened, then pour in two cups of chicken broth, stirring while pouring to incorporate.

mushroomsoup8

mushroomsoup9

mushroomsoup10

Drain the dried mushrooms, reserving the liquid. Finely chop the mushrooms and add them to the soup, then pour in the soaking liquid. Measure half a cup of milk and whisk two tablespoons of flour into it to make a slurry-this will help to further thicken the soup. Add it to the soup and bring the soup to a boil briefly to thicken it.

mushroomsoup11

mushroomsoup12

Add the rice and stir to incorporate. It kind of looks like some kind of thick bean soup, doesn’t it? Salt and pepper to taste.

mushroomsoup13

Finally….finely shred some Swiss and parmesan cheese and sprinkle it over a thick slice of good bread (this was a gigantic slice of sourdough that we bought-yes, bought-at the grocery store bakery), then broil it until it’s beautiful and brown (I actually like mine on the verge of burnt….). This made four servings of delicious mushroom soup!

2 thoughts on “Cream of Mushroom Soup with Swiss-Parmesan Toast

  1. This is the BEST cream of mushroom soup I’ve ever had. I did thicken it with a bit more flour than the recipe called for as I like a thicker cream of mushroom soup, but other than that, I wouldn’t change a thing. Definitely making this again and again.

Thanks for leaving a comment....but remember that Chattavore is a positive site. Keep your comments nice! Negativity will be deleted.

