Twice-Baked Spinach Potatoes-Lighting is an Issue…..

Okay, let me go ahead and apologize. I said yesterday that I might be inundating you with photography posts….and I am not going to go back on my promise. So, you’re going to be seeing the good, the bad, and the ugly of my photography. I just told Philip today that I guess I’m going to have to start taking pictures of dinner so I can practice every day. Considering what time dinner is, that’s just the time to practice, at least in the winter when it gets dark so early. You see, yesterday when I took the photos for my cake balls post, it was still very bright outside and I was able to use sunlight to light my scene. When I shot these….not so much. The lighting is very much artificial, and not great. I was very happy with yesterday’s photos, but these, well, they’re just so-so in comparison. It’s going to take some practice, but like I keep telling myself….it’s a process, it’s a process, it’s a process…..so I present to you, twice-baked spinach potatoes. I decided to include the recipe, so you’ll have to scroll down a little to see the photos.

Start by thawing a 10-ounce box of frozen spinach-I did this in the microwave. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Scrub two large baking potatoes, poke holes in them, and microwave for about eight minutes. Place the potatoes on a rimmed baking sheet, brush with oil (I used olive oil), and coat with salt (sea salt or kosher salt). Bake for 30 minutes and allow them to cool slightly.

While the potatoes are baking, drain the juice off of the spinach into a bowl. Measure out 1/3 cup of the spinach juice then add 1/3 cup of evaporated milk to that and microwave the mixture for two minutes. Combine two teaspoons of olive oil and a minced garlic clove (I used my garlic press) in a large skillet. Heat the skillet on medium-high until the garlic begins to sizzle, then whisk in a tablespoon of flour. Add the spinach juice and milk mixture and cook until thick. Add in the drained spinach, one sliced scallion, and a tablespoon of fresh dill (or a teaspoon of dry, like I did). Cook until the mixture starts to stick a little.

Cut the potatoes in half lengthwise and scoop out most of the flesh, but leave enough to make a firm “shell”. Mix the flesh with half of the spinach mixture and salt and pepper to taste. Fill the potato shells with the potato and spinach mixture, then divide the remainder of the spinach mixture among the four potato halves. Sprinkle the top of each potato with one or two tablespoons of feta or queso fresco (which is what I used). Bake for twelve minutes on the center rack, then, leaving the rack in the same place, broil for three minutes to brown the cheese.

This recipe made (obviously) four potato halves. We ate this as a “main dish” and each only ate one half plus bread.

*This recipe was adapted from the book Cook Without a Book: Meatless Meals by Pam Anderson (not that Pam Anderson!)

Thanks for leaving a comment....but remember that Chattavore is a positive site. Keep your comments nice! Negativity will be deleted.

