The Recipes You’re Dying For-Fried Rice and Japanese Steakhouse White Sauce

Recently, you may have read my blog post about Kioto Japanese Restaurant in the Dallas Bay area. One of the most common remarks that I heard regarding that blog was related to the white sauce. Apparently, I am not the only person who loves the white sauce that they serve at Japanese restaurants. The best that I’ve had in a restaurant is at Typhoon of Tokyo…but this recipe is even better, at least in my opinion. My friend Sharon gave me this recipe after I posted my Kioto review. I did tweak it just a little by adding soy sauce….and it is absolutely addictive. I love to eat it with teriyaki steak or chicken or just with fried rice. Either way, yum. I’ll post my teriyaki recipe soon, but today I’m going to stick with fried rice and white sauce.

Let’s start with the white sauce. You can do this the night before. Actually, the recipe says that you should, but my cooking of Japanese food is generally conducted on a whim and I rarely think about this the night before. This recipe is halved, so feel free to double the proportions if you are feeding more people. (By the way, my pictures are terrible. I totally focused on my hand and not on the food. That’s what happens when you try to measure with one hand and photograph with the other….)

I started with 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons of mayo. The recipe specifies Hellman’s but I’m sure Kraft would be fine too. I’m pretty brand-name specific with my mayo, though. It’s Hellman’s, Kraft, or homemade for me! Add 1/2 teaspoon of tomato paste. I love these tubes of tomato paste because they keep me from throwing away the 2/3 of a can that I always have left over. Add 1/2 teaspoon of sugar, 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder, 1/8 teaspoon of paprika, 2 tablespoons of water, 1/2 tablespoon of melted butter, and, finally, 2 tablespoons of soy sauce. Whisk it all together and stick it in the fridge until you’re ready for it. The original recipe calls for a dash of cayenne, but I don’t bother.

This plunger measuring cup is great for measuring things like mayo, peanut butter, honey, and molasses!

Now for the fried rice. I used to try to make fried rice and it was never good. I would cry into my skillet and wonder why I was such a terrible fried-rice maker. I’m not sure what happened, but now I rock fried rice. It’s so easy, and it’s amazingly delicious.

Start with leftover rice, or make your rice the night before you need it. What you see here is two cups of short-grain brown rice. If you want to switch to brown rice, make the effort to go to Greenlife (Whole Foods) or Earth Fare and get short grain. It is so much better than long! Chilled rice is much stickier than fresh, so it works a lot better than freshly made for this recipe.

Short-grain brown rice is so much better than long-grain!

Now, chop up a small (or half of a medium) onion and a carrot or two. Cook them over medium heat in a tablespoon or so of oil (I used canola) until softened. Add in the rice and cook it till warmed through and maybe slightly browning. Beat an egg and pour it over, cooking and stirring to incorporate the egg, which will cook very quickly. This is the point at which I apparently forgot to keep taking picures, so I unfortunately don’t have a picture of the finished product. I also like to add in some frozen peas and/or edamame and cook until they are warmed through. If your rice gets too dry, you can add in a little water or sherry (my choice!). Finally, shake in a little soy sauce until the taste is where you like it. Simplicity and perfection!

The beaten egg....and this is where it stops. Frown!

4 thoughts on “The Recipes You’re Dying For-Fried Rice and Japanese Steakhouse White Sauce

Thanks for leaving a comment....but remember that Chattavore is a positive site. Keep your comments nice! Negativity will be deleted.

